Yuejie Chi named the IEEE Information Theory Society 2021 Goldsmith Lecturer
Yuejie Chi announced as the 2021 Goldsmith Lecturer
Apr 4, 2021
Muriel Médard named the IEEE Information Theory Society 2021 Padovani Lecturer
Muriel Médard announced as the 2021 Padovani Lecturer
Apr 4, 2021
The IEEE Information Theory Society names 2021-22 Distinguished Lecturers
2021-22 Distinguished Lecturers announced
Apr 4, 2021
CFP: IEEE JSAC Special Issue on Private Information Retrieval, Private Coded Computing over Distributed Servers, and Privacy in Distributed Learning
This special issue is dedicated to communication theory, coding theory, information theory, signal processing, and networking aspects of privacy in information retrieval, privacy in coded computing over distributed servers, and privacy in distributed learning.
Mar 29, 2021
Reminder: Information Theory Society Call for 2021 Award Nominations
There is still time for all members to submit nominations for the following Information Theory Society awards.
Feb 23, 2021
Registrations for ITW 2020
Registrations for ITW 2020 are now open. Workshop dates: April 11-15, 2021. Detailed information at
Feb 19, 2021
Meir Feder Wins Academy Award
IT Society Life Fellow Meir Feder is a co-recipient of the Scientific and Engineering Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for his work on wireless video transmission.
Feb 17, 2021
Postdoctoral Position, University of Pennsylvania
Postdoctoral position at the boundary of information theory, Network Sciences, and Learning.
Feb 14, 2021
JSAIT Updates
Deadline extension for 6th special issue, CFP for 7th special issue, call for proposals
Feb 12, 2021
Invitation to attend the PIPP: Pandemic Readiness for Emerging Pathogens workshop (February 16, 17, 2021)
Interdisciplinary workshop on predictive intelligence for pandemic prevention; seeking participation from Engineering (ENG), Biological Sciences (BIO), Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE), and Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences (SBE). February 16, 17, 2021
Jan 31, 2021
ERC-Funded Positions in Goal-Oriented Semantic Communication
A variety of PhD student, Postdoc Fellow and 5-year Researcher Positions are available at the Communication Systems Department, EURECOM, France.
Jan 22, 2021
Call for 2021 Information Theory Society Award Nominations
We look forward to receiving nominations from all members for the following Information Theory Society awards. Please note the deadlines to nominate.
Jan 13, 2021
Jacob Ziv Awarded IEEE Medal of Honor
Jacob Ziv has received the most prestigious award of the IEEE, the IEEE Medal of Honor.
Jan 6, 2021
"How Claude Shannon Invented the Future" in Quanta Magazine
David Tse writes about not only Claude Shannon's impact on communications, but also on how his work illustrates the importance of top-rate science. Read David's article in Quanta Magazine.
Dec 24, 2020
Call for 2021 Information Theory Society Award Nominations
We look forward to receiving nominations from all members for the following Information Theory Society awards. Please note the deadlines to nominate.
Dec 22, 2020
Good News! IEEE Student Membership Dues Are Now 50% Off
Attention Students! IEEE now offers a discounted dues option for all student and graduate student members. Simply enter promotion code FUTURE50 when you join or renew to receive 50% off your student membership!
Dec 22, 2020
CFP: JSAIT Special Issue on Coded Computing (Feb 15 deadline)
The intersection of information theory and computing has been a fertile ground for novel, relevant intellectual problems. Recently, coding-theoretic techniques have been designed to improve performance metrics in distributed computing systems. This has generated a significant amount of research that has produced novel fundamental limits, code designs, and practical implementations. The set of ideas leveraged by this new line of research is collectively referred to as coded computing. This special issue will focus on coded computing, including aspects such as tradeoffs between reliability, latency, privacy, and security. Specific topics of interest include:
Dec 10, 2020
Bridge to the Faculty Postdoc Position at ECE, University of Illinois Chicago
The Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) department at the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) will be recruiting a Bridge to the Faculty (B2F) Scholar with start date on August 16, 2021.
Dec 9, 2020

Members can submit news, events and job announcements.