Chapter of the Year Award

The purpose of the Chapter of the Year Award is to recognize annually a chapter that has provided their membership with the best overall set of programs and activities. Any chapter is eligible. The activities reported to IEEE will be directly considered for the award. In addition, Chapter Officers are encouraged to submit a summary of the chapter’s exemplary service to its members in the areas of technical and society activities. A prize of $1,000 is awarded to support local chapter activities. Additionally, the winning chapter is encouraged to publish an article in the IEEE Information Theory Newsletter. The basis for judging is the success in the categories of technical and society activities, and presentation of the chapter in the web home pages of the IT Society.

Past recipients of the Chapter of the Year Award are:

  • Sweden (2023)
  • UK and Ireland Section Chapter (2022)
  • Guangzhou (2021)
  • Republic of North Macedonia (2020)
  • Japan (2019)
  • Spain (2018)
  • Sweden (2017)
  • Benelux (2016)
  • Hong Kong (2015)
  • Israel (2014)
  • Sweden (2013)
  • Finland (2012)
  • Spain (2011)
  • Russia, Russia (Siberia), and Russia (Northwest) Joint Sections Chapter (2010)
  • Tapei (2009)
  • Kichener-Waterloo (2008)
  • Seoul (2007)
  • Hong Kong (2006)
  • Japan (2005)
  • Benelux (2004)
  • Germany (2003)
  • Japan (2002)