Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award

Jump to other IT Society Websites:
The Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award of the IT Society has been instituted to honor an individual who has shown outstanding leadership in, and provided long-standing, exceptional service to, the Information Theory community. Each Wyner Award winner receives an ISIT or ITW participation fee waiver, a specially engraved plaque, and a certificate. This award was initiated as the IT Society Distinguished Service Award in 2004, but was renamed to the Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award in 2005.

Image result for aaron d wyner

Starting for the 2009 Award, the Wyner Award Committee has decided to issue an open call for nominations. All nominations should be submitted by March 1 using the online form available here. -DEADLINE EXTENDED TO APRIL 6TH, 2020.

Although anyone may make a nomination, the Committee retains the responsibility of assuring that a suitable slate of candidates is nominated, and may itself generate nominations. 

The winners of the Distinguished Service Award are:

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:



IEEE TechNav