Paper Awards Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Paper Awards Committee

The Paper Awards Committee shall consist of at least nine members representing all major technical areas in the Society. At least four members shall have served as Associate Editors, Senior Editors or Guest Editors of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory or the Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory within the past three years. The 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents of the Society shall serve as ex-officio voting members of this Committee, with the 1st Vice President serving as Chair. At least two members of the Committee (in addition to the two Officers) shall be members of the Board. The Committee shall be appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee no later than January 31st.

The Committee shall be responsible for submitting a recommendation to the Board for the Information Theory Society Paper Award. It is also responsible for selecting the recipient(s) of the Jack Keil Wolf ISIT Student Paper Award, and for contributing members to serve on the IEEE Communication Society and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award selection committee.

2021 Members
Christina Fragouli
Ex-Officio and Chair (01/01/21 until 12/31/21)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of California, Los Angeles 

Matthieu Bloch
Member (03/19/20 until 12/31/21)
Ex-Officio (01/01/21 until 12/31/21)

Georgia Institute of Technology

School of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Holger Boche
Member (03/19/20 until 12/31/22)

Technische Universität München

Department of Electrical Engineering 

Institute of Theoretical Technology

Theresienstraße 90

80333 München, Germany

phone.: +49 89 289 23240

fax: +49 89 289 23242

Jean-Francois Chamberland
Member (03/19/20 until 12/31/21)
Bikash Kumar Dey
Member (03/19/20 until 12/31/22)
Bikash Kumar Dey
Department of Electrical Engineering
IIT Bombay
Powai, Mumbai 400076
Ph.  +91-22-2576-7429 (Office)
Fax: +91-22-2572-3707
Maxim Raginsky
Member (03/19/20 until 12/31/22)

Coordinated Science Laboratory

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

1308 W Main St

Urbana, IL 61801


Daniela Tuninetti
Member (03/19/20 until 12/31/21)
University of Illinois Chicago Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering 851 S. Morgan Street, M/C 154 Chicago, IL 60607-7053, USA Tel. +1.312.413.7431 Fax: +1.312.996.6465
Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


IEEE TechNav