Publications Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Publications Committee

The Publications Committee shall consist of the Senior Past-President, who will serve as Chair and Vice-President of Publications, the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory (the Transactions), the Executive Editor of the Transactions, the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory (the Journal), the Chair of the Steering Committee of the Journal, and the Editor-in-Chief of the Newsletter. The Committee shall advise the Board on the overall publications policies for the Society and shall serve, as needed, in an advisory capacity to the editors of Society publications on matters of policy that transcend individual publications.

Subsection A) Transactions Editors: The term of office of the Transactions Editor-in-Chief and the Transactions Executive Editor shall be eighteen months. At the end of a term of office, the Transactions Executive Editor shall assume the office of the Transactions

Editor-in-Chief. Following an open call issued by the Society at least six months prior to the end of a term of office, a new Transactions Executive Editor shall be nominated by the Nominations and Appointments Committee in consultation with the present Transactions Editor-in-Chief and Executive Editor. The nominee shall be appointed with approval of the Board. The outgoing Transactions Editor-in-Chief is not eligible for immediate reappointment as Transactions Executive Editor. Both the Transactions Editor-in-Chief and Transactions Executive Editor shall be voting members of the Board. Transactions Associate Editors are appointed by the Transactions Editor-in-Chief, subject to the approval of the Board. The Transactions Editor-in-Chief may appoint an Executive Editorial Board for the term of his or her tenure, which shall serve as an advisory body.

Subsection B) Journal Steering Committee and Editor-in-Chief: The Steering Committee of the Journal shall consist of four members, serving in staggered non-renewable four-year terms. Appointments to the Steering Committee shall be made by the Nominations and Appointments Committee in consultation with the current Steering Committee members. The Chair of the Steering Committee shall be appointed by Steering Committee members and must have served for at least one year as a committee member prior to being appointed Chair. In the event that the Steering Committee is unable to select a Chair, the Chair shall be selected by the Publications Committee.

The term of office of the Journal Editor-in-Chief shall be three years. At least six months prior to the end of a term of office, the Society shall issue an open call for a new Journal Editor-in-Chief. The Journal Editor-in-Chief shall be nominated by the Steering Committee of the Journal and appointed by the Board. The outgoing Journal Editor-in-Chief is not eligible for immediate re-appointment as Journal Editor-in-Chief. The Journal Editor-in-Chief shall be a voting member of the Board. Journal Senior Editors are appointed by the Journal Editor-in-Chief, subject to the approval of the Steering Committee of the Journal.

Subsection C) Newsletter Editor: The term of office of the Newsletter Editor shall be three years. The Newsletter Editor shall be appointed by the Board, upon nomination by the Society President.

2020 Members
Igal Sason
Editor-in-Chief (01/01/20 until 06/30/21)

Department of Electrical Engineering
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Haifa 32000, Israel
Phone: ++972-4-8294699

Erdal Arıkan
Executive Editor (01/01/20 until 06/30/21)

Electrical Engineering Department, Bilkent University, 06800, Ankara, Turkey

Andrea Goldsmith
JSAIT Editor-in-Chief (01/01/20 until 12/31/22)

Department of Electrical Engineering
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: 650 725 6932

Elza Erkip
Vice-President of Publications (01/01/20 until 12/31/20)

Christina Fragouli
Ex-officio (01/01/20 until 12/31/22)

Department of Electrical Engineering
University of California, Los Angeles 

Aylin Yener
Ex-officio (10/04/18 until 12/31/20)

Roy and Lois Chope Chair in Engineering

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor of Integrated Systems Engineering
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

The Ohio State University
720 Dreese Labs, 2015 Neil Ave, Columbus, OH 43210

Wei Yu
Ex-officio (01/01/19 until 12/31/21)

Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
University of Toronto
10 King's College Road
Toronto, ON M5S 3G4

Salim El Rouayheb
Newsletter Editor (02/11/18 until 12/31/20)

Wireless Foundations Lab

EECS Department

University of California, Berkeley

Ioannis Kontoyiannis
Associate Editor At Large (10/01/17 until 12/31/20)

Department of Engineering
    Trumpington Street
    Cambridge CB2 1PZ
    United Kingdom

Chaoping Xing
Associate Editor for Coding Theory (12/01/14 until 11/30/20)

School of Physical & Mathematical Sciences

Nanyang Technological University

21 Nanyang Link

Singapore 637371

Bikash Kumar Dey
Associate Editor for Coding Techniques (02/11/18 until 12/31/20)
Bikash Kumar Dey
Department of Electrical Engineering
IIT Bombay
Powai, Mumbai 400076
Ph.  +91-22-2576-7429 (Office)
Fax: +91-22-2572-3707
Associate Editor for Pattern Recognition, Statistical Learning, and Inference (01/01/18 until 01/01/21)

Maxim Raginsky
Associate Editor for Probability and Statistics (02/11/18 until 12/31/20)

Coordinated Science Laboratory

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

1308 W Main St

Urbana, IL 61801


Newsletter Editorial Committee
Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


Table of Contents

IEEE TechNav