Thomas M. Cover Dissertation Award Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Thomas M. Cover Dissertation Award Committee

The Thomas M. Cover Dissertation Award Committee shall consist of a Chair (appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee), the 1st Vice-President, and at least three other Society members (at least one of whom must be a member of the Board) appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee before January 15th. Typically the Chair and members of the Committee will serve for three years, with members serving in staggered terms.

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Thomas M. Cover Dissertation Award winner for the year and with selecting a winner.

2021 Members
Roy Yates
Chair (01/01/21 until 12/31/23)

WINLAB/ECE Department
Rutgers University
671 US 1

North Brunswick NJ 08902

Christina Fragouli
Ex-officio (01/01/21 until 12/31/21)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of California, Los Angeles 

Lara Dolecek
Member (01/01/21 until 12/31/23)


Electrical and Computer Engineering Department

University of California, Los Angeles

Engineering IV, 56-147B

UCLA, Los Angeles, CA, 90095

Member (01/28/20 until 12/31/22)
Ayfer Özgür
Member (01/01/21 until 12/31/23)

Packard Electrical Engineering
350 Serra Mall, Room 261
Stanford, California 94305-9510

Phone: +1 650 723 7368

Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


IEEE TechNav