ITSOC Members Win 2017 IEEE Awards

Jump to other IT Society Websites:
ITSOC members have been awarded several prestigious IEEE awards for 2017.

The 2017 IEEE Medal of Honor recognizes an exceptional contribution or an extraordinary career in IEEE fields of interest, sponsored by the IEEE Foundation. It was awarded to Kornelis (Kees) A. Schouhamer Immink for pioneering contributions to video, audio, and data recording technology, including compact disc, DVD, and Blu-ray.

The 2017 IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal recognizes exceptional contributions to the advancement of communications sciences and engineering, sponsored by Bell Labs, Nokia. It was awarded to H. Vincent Poor for fundamental contributions to signal processing and its application to digital communications.

The 2017 IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal recognizes exceptional contributions to information sciences, systems, and technology, sponsored by Qualcomm, Inc.. It was awarded to Shlomo Shamai for fundamental contributions to information theory and wireless communications.

The 2017 IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal recognizes outstanding achievements in signal processing, sponsored by Texas Instruments, Inc.. It was awarded to Martin Vetterli for fundamental contributions to advanced sampling, signal representations, and multirate and multiresolution signal processing.

The 2017 IEEE Simon Ramo Medal recognizes exceptional achievement in systems engineering and systems science, sponsored by Northrop Grumman Corporation. It was awarded to John Baras for exceptional contributions to the conception and commercialization of internet-over-satellite systems, and for leadership in model-based engineering, systems science, and engineering research.

The 2017 IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the integration of computers and communications, sponsored by NEC Corporation. It was awarded to Kannan Ramchandran for pioneering contributions to the theory and practice of distributed source and storage coding.