Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Claude E. Shannon Award winner for the following year, and to select a winner. The President of the Society shall serve as Chairperson of the Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee. Ordinarily, the decision of the Committee shall be made public at the IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory of the year preceding the award.

The Claude E. Shannon Award Committee shall consist of the President (who shall serve as Chair), the 1st Vice-President, the 2nd Vice-President, and four other members appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee before January 15th. At least three of the appointed members shall be former Claude E. Shannon Award winners, and at least one of the appointed members shall be the current, or a former, Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory or the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory. Typically the appointed members of the Committee will serve for two years, in staggered terms.

2020 Members
Aylin Yener
Ex-officio and Chair (01/01/20 until 12/31/20)

Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Dean's Fellow
The Pennsylvania State University
121 Electrical Engineering East, University Park, PA 16802

Christina Fragouli
Ex-officio (01/01/20 until 12/31/21)

Department of Electrical Engineering
University of California, Los Angeles 

Wei Yu
Ex-officio (01/01/19 until 12/31/20)

Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
University of Toronto
10 King's College Road
Toronto, ON M5S 3G4

Erdal Arıkan
Member (01/01/19 until 12/31/20)

Electrical Engineering Department, Bilkent University, 06800, Ankara, Turkey

Member (01/01/20 until 12/31/21)

Department of ECE and Institute for Systems Research

University of Maryland

College Park, MD 20742

Robert Calderbank
Member (01/01/20 until 12/31/21)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Duke University

Mailing Address:

Gross Hall, Room 317

140 Science Drive


NC 27708-0984

Phone Number: 919-613-7874

Te Sun Han
Member (01/01/20 until 12/31/21)


Alexander Vardy
Member (01/01/19 until 12/31/20)

University of California San Diego

Members by Year
Show all previous years

IEEE TechNav