Frank Kschischang: 2023 IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal

The IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal is awarded for exceptional contributions to information sciences, systems, and technology. It is awarded to FRANK KSCISCHANG (FIEEE)—Professor, University of Toronto, Canada, for contributions to the theory and practice of error correcting codes and optical communications.

Rüdiger Urbanke: 2023 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award

The IEEE Graduate Teaching Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1990 and renamed in honor of Leon K. Kirchmayer in 2002. Dr. Kirchmayer was well known and revered throughout the world for his commitment to students and education. It is awarded to RÜDIGER URBANKE (FIEEE)—Professor, EPFL, Switzerland, for contributions to graduate education, empowering students and mentorship that advanced the world of wireless and engineering communication.

2022 Information Theory Society Paper Award

The purpose of the Information Theory Paper Award is to recognize exceptional publications in the field and to stimulate interest in and encourage contributions to fields of interest of the Society.

Aylin Yener: IEEE Division IX Director

Our Past President Aylin Yener has been elected to the next IEEE Division IX Director in the recently concluded 2022 IEEE Elections. Division IX includes the following Societies: IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, IEEE Information Theory Society, IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society, IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society, IEEE Signal Processing Society and IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.

Charles H. Bennett: 2023 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

The Breakthrough Prize Foundation and its founding sponsors – Sergey Brin, Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg, Julia and Yuri Milner, and Anne Wojcicki –announced the 2023 Breakthrough Prize laureates, recognized for their game-changing discoveries in Fundamental Physics, Life Sciences and Mathematics. The Prize in Fundamental Physics is awarded to CHARLES H. BENNETT (FIEEE)—IBM Fellow, USA,  for his foundational work in quantum informationIt is jointed awarded with Gilles Brassard, David Deutsch and Peter Shor.

Rashimi K. Vinayak: 2023 Sloan Research Fellowship

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation announced the names of the 125 early-career researchers across seven fields who have been selected to receive a 2023 Sloan Research Fellowship. Awarded annually since 1955, the fellowships honor extraordinary U.S. and Canadian researchers whose creativity, innovation, and research accomplishments make them stand out as the next generation of leaders. A fellowship in Computer Science is awarded to RASHIMI K. VINAYAK—Professor, Carnegie Mellon University, USA.


2023 Newly Elevated IEEE Fellows:


Joao Barros

for contributions to physical-layer security and vehicular networking

Constantine Caramanis

for contributions to robust statistics and optimization in high dimensions

Yuejie Chi

for contributions to statistical signal processing with lowdimensional structures

Jinho Choi

for contributions to multiple access signal processing systems

Natasha Devroye

for fundamental contributions to the theoretical understanding of cognitive, two-way, and relay networks

Marios Kountouris

for contributions to optimization and multi-antenna techniques in heterogeneous wireless networks

Mohammad Maddah-ali

for contributions to information theory for interference management, coded caching and computing

Gerald Matz

for contributions to signal processing for communications in nonstationary environments

Ralf Reiner Mueller

for contributions to the design and analysis of large multiantenna and multiple-access systems

Chandra Murthy

for contributions to Bayesian sparse signal recovery and energy harvesting communications

Hideki Ochiai

for contributions to power and spectral efficient wireless communication

Miguel Raul Rodrigues

for contributions to multimodal data processing and foundations of reliable and secure communications

Laurent Schmalen

for contributions to the design of error correction and modulation techniques for optical networks

Anthony So

for contributions to optimization in signal processing and communications

Changho Suh

for contributions to interference management and distributed storage codes

Olav Tirkkonen

for contributions in the theory and practice of wireless communications technology and standards

Mark Wilde

for contributions to the relative-entropy framework and theorems for quantum communications