2010 North American School of Information Theory

August 5-8, 2010, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA



The 2010 North American School of Information Theory will be held Thursday, August 5, to Sunday, August 8, 2010, at USC  in Los Angeles. The school will offer graduate students and postdoctoral researchers the opportunity to learn from leading experts in information theory through short courses and talks as well as the chance to present their own work.

This year's lecturers are  Emmanuel Candès Andrea Goldsmith Alon Orlitsky Rüdiger Urbanke Sergio Verdú , and  Jack Wolf . Jack Wolf will be the second Padovani Lecturer of the IEEE Information Theory Society  and will give his lecture at the School. The Padovani Lecture is sponsored by a generous gift of Roberto Padovani.

Graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in North America working on problems of information theory in a broad sense are encouraged to apply with the title and a short (less than 250 words) abstract of a poster they would like to present.

The application deadline for the school is  April 30 2010 and notifications will be sent by early June 2010.


The IEEE Information Theory Society is the main sponsor of the 2008-2010 Schools. We are grateful to the U.S. Army Research Laboratory (ARL) and the National Science Foundation (NSF) for their continuing support of these events. Funding for the 2010 School has also been provided by the USC Ming Hsieh Institute, USC Electrical Engineering, Northwestern University - Master of Science in Information Technology Program, Rice University - Center for Multimedia Communication, Texas A&M University - ECE Department, Penn State - Networking and Security Research Center, The University of Texas at Austin - Wireless Networking and Communications Group, University of Notre Dame, and Princeton University. Thank you all!


General Chairs

Aylin Yener

Gerhard Kramer


Program and Applications

Michelle Effros

Tracey Ho

Local  Arrangements

Alex Dimakis

Michael Neely


Sriram Vishwanath



Matthieu Bloch