Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory (JSAIT)

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory (JSAIT)

The IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory (JSAIT) seeks high quality technical papers on all aspects of Information Theory and its applications. JSAIT is a multi-disciplinary journal of special issues focusing on the intersections of information theory with fields such as machine learning, statistics, genomics, neuroscience, theoretical computer science, and physics. Any field that utilizes the fundamentals of information theory, including concepts such as entropy, compression, coding, mutual information, divergence, capacity, and rate distortion theory are excellent candidates for JSAIT special issues.There will also be special issues for hot topics firmly within information theory, such as new types of codes, short-packet communication, advances in multi-terminal information theory, quantum information theory, information theoretic security, and other emerging topics.

Current CFPs:

  • JSAIT's fifth issue will focus on Sequential, Active, and Reinforcement Learning. Read the call for papers here. Papers are due October 15 (extended from October 1. This is a hard deadline).


Past CFPs: 

Propose a Special Issue

JSAIT welcomes proposals for special issues focusing on the intersection of information theory with other disciplines as well as on emerging areas and hot topics. Details on how to propose a special issue can be found here

Manuscript Submission Website

 Submit your manuscripts on Manuscript Central:

Editorial Board


  • Andrea Goldsmith
    Princeton University

Senior Editors

  • Rich Baraniuk, Rice University
  • Giuseppe Caire, Technical University of Berlin
  • Emmanuel Candés, Stanford University
  • Alex Dimakis, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Yonina Eldar, Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Negar Kiyavash, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Rob Nowak, University of Wisconsin
  • Alon Orlitsky, University of California San Diego
  • David Tse, Stanford University
  • Andreas Winter, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Aylin Yener, Pennsylvania State University
  • Raymond Yeung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Steering Committee (term)

  • Chair: Jeffrey Andrews, The University of Texas at Austin  (2017-2023)
  • A. Robert Calderbank, Duke University (2017-2022)
  • Muriel Médard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2017-2020)
  • H. Vincent Poor, Princeton University (2017-2021)
  • Ruediger Urbanke, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (2017-2020)

Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) Members

  • Corinna Cortes, Google
  • Merouane Debbah, Huawei
  • Gerhard Fettweis, National Instruments; TU Dresden
  • Kristin Lauter, Microsoft
  • Nambi Seshadri, UCSD
  • Nadia Fawaz, LinkedIn
  • Tom Richardson, Qualcomm
  • Amin Shokrollahi, Kandou Bus; EPFL