Aylin Yener

Jump to other IT Society Websites:
Aylin Yener portrait

Aylin Yener


Affiliation: Penn State

Contact Information

Dean's Fellow and Professor of Electrical Engineering
Penn State University
121 Electrical Engineering East, University Park, PA 16802

Research Interests

  • Communication Networks
  • Communications
  • Complexity and Cryptography
  • Shannon Theory


Aylin Yener is a professor of Electrical Engineering at The Pennsylvania State University since 2010, and a Dean’s fellow since 2017. She is currently also a visiting professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. She joined Penn State’s faculty as an assistant professor in 2002, and was an associate professor 2006-2010. She was also a visiting associate professor at Stanford during the academic year 2008-2009. In the summer of 2016, she was a visiting researcher at Telecom Paris Tech. She received the B.Sc. degree in electrical and electronics engineering, and the B.Sc. degree in physics, from Boğaziçi University, Istanbul, Turkey; and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical and computer engineering from Wireless Information Network Laboratory (WINLAB), Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ. Yener received the CAREER award from the National Science Foundation in 2003, and was a member of the young investigator team on the DARPA program for Information Theory for Mobile Ad Hoc Networks (ITMANET) 2006-2011. Her research recognitions include the 2014 IEEE Marconi paper award. She is a fellow of the IEEE.

Yener’s research interests are in information theory, fundamental performance limits of networked systems, information security and energy harvesting communications. In particular, she continues to advocate for the impact of information theory on design insights and understanding of networked and complex systems.

Yener’s service to IEEE includes being technical program chair of various conferences for the IEEE Communications Society, an associate editor for the IEEE Transactions on Communications, an associate editor and an editorial advisory board member for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and a senior editor for the Journal on Selected Areas in Communications.

Her service to IEEE Information Theory Society includes various positions in organizing ISIT 2011, 2012 and 2013. She was the student committee chair for the IEEE Information Theory Society 2007-2011, and was the co-founder of the Annual School of Information Theory in North America (with Gerhard Kramer), co-organizing the school in years 2008, 2009 and 2010. She was the treasurer of the IEEE Information Theory Society in 2012-2014. She is currently a member of the Board of Governors for 2015-2017, and is serving as the information theory schools subcommittee chair.

Participation & Positions:

Awards Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2019)
ITSOC Distinguished Lecturers (Lecturer, 01/01/19 until 12/31/20)
Online Committee (Ex-officio, 2019)
Conference Committee (Ex-Officio, 2019)
Thomas M. Cover Dissertation Award Subcommittee (Ex-officio, 2019)
Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio, 2019)
Board of Governors (First Vice President, 2019)
Information Theory School Subcommittee (Ex-officio, 10/14/18 until 12/31/18)
Student and Outreach Subcommittee (Ex-officio, 10/04/18 until 12/31/18)
Publications Committee (Ex-officio, 10/04/18 until 12/31/20)
Membership Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 10/04/18 until 12/31/18)
James L. Massey Research and Teaching Award for Young Scholars Selection Subcommittee (Ex-officio, 10/04/18 until 12/31/18)
Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio, 10/04/18 until 12/31/18)
Board of Governors (Second Vice President, 10/04/18 until 12/31/18)
Ad-hoc Committee on Society Finances (Member, 09/21/18 until 12/31/19)
Board of Governors (Member, 01/01/18 until 12/31/20)
Board of Governors (Member, 01/01/15 until 12/31/17)
Conference Committee (Ex-Officio, 2014)
Information Theory School Subcommittee (Chair, 01/01/14 until 12/31/17)
WITHITS Officers (Officer, 01/01/13 until 12/31/14)
Conference Committee (Ex-Officio, 01/01/12 until 12/31/13)
Board of Governors (Treasurer, 01/01/12 until 12/31/14)
School Committee (General Chair, 01/01/10 until present)
School of IT Organizing Committee (General Chair, 2009)
Student and Outreach Subcommittee (Chair, 09/01/07 until 12/31/11)