Jeffrey G Andrews

Jump to other IT Society Websites:
Jeffrey G Andrews portrait

Jeffrey G Andrews


Affiliation: UT Austin

Contact Information

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

The University of Texas at Austin


Contact Information:
UT Austin WNCG, ENS 431
2501 Speedway, Stop C0806
Austin, TX 78712-1687

Phone: (512) 471-6500
Fax: (512) 471 6512


Jeffrey Andrews (S’98, M’02, SM’06, F’13) received the B.S. in Engineering with High Distinction from Harvey Mudd College, and the M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.  He is the Cullen Trust Endowed Professor (#1) of ECE at the University of Texas at Austin. He developed Code Division Multiple Access systems at Qualcomm from 1995-97, and has consulted for entities including Apple, Samsung, Verizon, AT&T, the WiMAX Forum, Intel, Microsoft, Clearwire, Sprint, and NASA.  He is a member of the Technical Advisory Board of Artemis Networks and GenXComm, and is co-author of the books Fundamentals of WiMAX (Prentice-Hall, 2007) and Fundamentals of LTE (Prentice-Hall, 2010).  He was the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications from 2014-2016 and is Chair of the IEEE Communications Society Emerging Technologies Committee.


Dr. Andrews is an ISI Highly Cited Researcher and has been co-recipient of paper awards including the 2016 IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2014 IEEE Stephen O. Rice Prize, the 2014 and 2018 IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize, the 2011 and 2016 IEEE Heinrich Hertz Prize, and the 2010 IEEE ComSoc Best Tutorial Paper Award.  He received the 2015 Terman Award, the NSF CAREER Award, is an IEEE Fellow, and is an elected member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Information Theory Society.  

Participation & Positions:

Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory (JSAIT) Steering Committee (Chair, 02/11/18 until 12/31/23)
Board of Governors (Member, 01/01/16 until 12/31/18)
Conference Committee (Member, 01/01/14 until 12/31/16)
Board of Governors (Member, 01/01/13 until 12/31/15)

Author Of:

A. Lozano , J.G. Andrews , R.W. Heath Jr, "Fundamental Limits of Cooperation", IEEE Transactions on Information Theory, Mar. 2013