Gerhard Kramer

Jump to other IT Society Websites:
Gerhard Kramer portrait

Gerhard Kramer

Alexander von Humboldt Professor

Affiliation: Technical University of Munich

Home page:

Contact Information

Institute for Communications Engineering
Technical University of Munich
D-80290 Munich, Germany

Research Interests

  • Shannon Theory


Gerhard Kramer is Senior Vice President for Research and Innovation at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). He joined TUM as Alexander von Humboldt Professor and Chair of Communications Engineering in 2010 after a short stay at the University of Southern California (USC), Los Angeles, CA, from 2009-10.

He received the B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Manitoba in 1991 and 1992, respectively, and the Dr. sc. techn. degree from ETH Zurich in 1998. From 1998 to 2000, he was with Endora Tech AG in Basel, Switzerland, and from 2000 to 2008 he was with the Math Center at Bell Labs in Murray Hill, NJ. His research interests are primarily in information theory and communications theory, with applications to wireless, copper, and optical fiber networks.

Gerhard Kramer is an IEEE Fellow and served as the 2013 President of the IEEE Information Theory Society. He received several awards for his work, including an ETH Medal, an IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize Paper Award, an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship, a Vodafone Innovations Prize, a Thomas Alva Edison Patent Award, a EURASIP Best Paper Award, and a Lecturer Award from the Student Association of the TUM ECE Department. He is a member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities since 2015.

Participation & Positions:

Nominations and Appointments Committee (Member, 01/01/17 until 12/31/19)
Publications Committee (Vice-President of Publications, 2016)
Nominations and Appointments Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2015)
Constitution and Bylaws Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2015)
Board of Governors (Senior Past President, 2015)
Distinguished Lecturers List (Lecturer, 01/01/15 until 12/31/16)
Nominations and Appointments Committee (Ex-Officio, 2014)
Constitution and Bylaws Committee (Ex-Officio, 2014)
Schools Subcommittee (Member, 01/01/14 until 12/31/17)
Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio, 2014)
Board of Governors (Junior Past President, 2014)
Publications Committee (Ex-officio, 2013)
External Nominations Committee (Ex-officio, 2013)
Conference Committee (Ex-Officio, 2013)
Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio and Chair, 2013)
Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio and Chair, 2013)
Board of Governors (President, 2013)
Paper Awards Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2012)
Publications Committee (Ex-officio, 2012)
Online Committee (Ex-officio, 01/01/12 until 12/31/13)
Conference Committee (Ex-Officio, 2012)
Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio, 2012)
Board of Governors (First Vice President, 2012)
Paper Awards Committee (Ex-Officio, 2011)
Student and Outreach Subcommittee (Ex-officio, 2011)
Membership Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2011)
Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio, 2011)
Board of Governors (Second Vice President, 2011)
School Committee (General Chair, 01/01/10 until present)
Membership Committee (Member, 01/01/09 until 12/31/10)
Board of Governors (Member, 01/01/09 until 12/31/11)
School of IT Organizing Committee (General Chair, 2009)
Publications Committee (Associate Editor for Shannon Theory, 01/01/06 until 01/01/09)
Publications Committee (Publication Editor, 2005)