Costas N. Georghiades

Jump to other IT Society Websites:
Costas N. Georghiades portrait

Costas N. Georghiades

Sr. Associate Vice President for Research

Affiliation: Texas A&M University

Contact Information

Costas N. Georghiades

Sr. Associate Vice President for Research

Professor and Holder of the Delbert A. Whitaker Chair

Texas A&M University

312 Jack K. Williams Building

College Station, TX 77843-1112

Tel.: (979)-845-7408

Email: [email protected]

Research Interests

  • Coding Techniques
  • Coding Theory
  • Communications
  • Detection and Estimation
  • Sequences


Costas N. Georghiades (S'82–M'85–SM'90–F'98) received the B.E. degree with distinction from the American University of Beirut in 1980, and M.S. and D.Sc. degrees from Washington University in 1983 and 1985, respectively, all in Electrical Engineering. He joined the Electrical Engineering Department at Texas A&M University in 1985 where he is Professor and holder of the Delbert A. Whitaker Endowed Chair. He served two terms as Department Head, as Associate Dean for Research in the college of engineering and currently serves as Senior Associate Vice President for Research at Texas A&M.

Dr. Georghiades’ general research interests are in the application of information, communication and estimation theories to the study of communication systems. Over the years he served in various editorial positions, including with the IEEE Transactions on Communications, the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory and as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Communication Letters. He has been involved in organizing a number of conferences, including as General co-Chair for the 2004 IEEE Information Theory Workshop, as Technical Program Co-Chair for the 2005 IEEE Communication Theory Workshop and as General Co-Chair of the 2010 IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory. In other service, he served in the IEEE Communications Society’s Awards Committee, as Chair of the Communication Theory Technical Committee and as Chair of the Fellows Evaluation Committee of the IEEE Information Theory Society. More recently he served in the IEEE Hamming Medal committee, the Communication Society’s Awards committee and as Chair of the Wireless Communication Letters Steering committee. In 2012 he received the IEEE Communication Society’s Communication Theory Technical Committee Service Award.

Participation & Positions:

Fellows Evaluation Committee (Chair, 01/01/04 until 12/31/06)
Publications Committee (Associate Editor for Communications, 01/01/94 until 12/31/97)