Andrea Goldsmith

Jump to other IT Society Websites:
Andrea Goldsmith portrait

Andrea Goldsmith

Professor of Electrical Engineering

Affiliation: Stanford University

Contact Information

Department of Electrical Engineering
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: 650 725 6932


Andrea Goldsmith is the Stephen Harris professor in the School of Engineering and a professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. Her research interests are in information theory, communication theory, and signal processing, and their application to wireless communications, interconnected systems, and neuroscience. She founded and served as Chief Technical Officer of Plume WiFi (formerly Accelera, Inc.) and of Quantenna (QTNA), Inc, and she currently serves on the Board of Directors for Medtronic (MDT) and Crown Castle Inc (CCI). Dr. Goldsmith is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the IEEE and of Stanford, and has received several awards for her work, including the IEEE Sumner Technical Field Award, the ACM Athena Lecturer Award, the ComSoc Armstrong Technical Achievement Award, the WICE Mentoring Award, and the Silicon Valley/San Jose Business Journal’s Women of Influence Award. She is author of the book ``Wireless Communications'' and co-author of the books ``MIMO Wireless Communications'' and “Principles of Cognitive Radio,” all published by Cambridge University Press, as well as an inventor on 29 patents. She received the B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from U.C. Berkeley.

Dr. Goldsmith has served on the Board of Governors for both the IEEE Information Theory and Communications Societies. She served as the President of the IEEE Information Theory Society in 2009, founded and chaired the student committee of the IEEE Information Theory society, and is the founding chair of the IEEE TAB Committee on Diversity and Inclusion and the IEEE Board Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Ethics. At Stanford she has served as Chair of Stanford’s Faculty Senate and for multiple terms as a Senator, and on its Advisory Board, Budget Group, Committee on Research, Planning and Policy Board, Commissions on Graduate and on Undergraduate Education, Faculty Women’s Forum Steering Committee, and Task Force on Women and Leadership.


Participation & Positions:

Publications Committee (JSAIT Editor-in-Chief, 01/01/20 until 12/31/22)
Board of Governors (JSAIT Editor-in-Chief, 01/01/20 until 12/31/22)
External Nominations Committee (Member, 01/01/14 until 12/31/15)
Fellows Evaluation Committee (Member, 01/01/13 until 12/31/15)
Nominations and Appointments Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2011)
Constitution and Bylaws Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2011)
Board of Governors (Senior Past President, 2011)
Nominations and Appointments Committee (Ex-Officio, 2010)
Constitution and Bylaws Committee (Ex-Officio, 2010)
Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio, 2010)
Board of Governors (Junior Past President, 2010)
Distinguished Lecturers List (Lecturer, 10/29/09 until 12/31/11)
Online Committee (Ex-officio, 2009)
Conference Committee (Ex-Officio, 2009)
Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio and Chair, 2009)
Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio and Chair, 2009)
Board of Governors (President, 2009)
Paper Awards Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2008)
Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio, 2008)
Board of Governors (First Vice President, 2008)
Paper Awards Committee (Ex-Officio, 2007)
Membership Committee (Ex-Officio and Chair, 2007)
Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee (Ex-officio, 01/01/07 until 12/31/08)
Board of Governors (Second Vice President, 2007)
Publications Committee (Associate Editor for Communications, 10/01/06 until 10/01/09)
Board of Governors (2006)
Board of Governors (Member, 01/01/03 until 12/31/05)

Author Of:

N. Jindal , S. Vishwanath , A. Goldsmith , "On the Duality of Gaussian Multiple-Access and Broadcast Channels", IEEE Trans. Inform. Theory, May. 2004

C.T. Ng , D. Gunduz , A. Goldsmith , E. Erkip , "Minimum Expected Distortion in Gaussian Layered Broadcast Coding with Successive Refinement", Proc. of IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory, Nice, France, Jun. 2007