Conference Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Conference Committee

The Conference Committee shall consist of the Society Conference Committee Chair, who shall serve as an ex-officio voting Board member, the Society Treasurer, the President and 1st Vice-President as ex-officio members, and at least two additional members. The Conference Committee Chair shall be appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee, with approval of the Board. In turn, the Conference Committee Chair will appoint at least two additional members, also with approval of the Board. Typically the chair and members of the Committee will serve for three years, with members serving in staggered terms.

While the Board retains responsibility for deciding on major policy issues and approving specific Symposium and Workshop proposals, the Conference Committee shall be responsible for providing oversight of technical meetings on behalf of the Board, including (i) making recommendations to the Board regarding Society sponsorship of proposed technical meetings, (ii) monitoring forthcoming technical meeting proposals, soliciting new proposals, and coordinating organizing teams as needed, (iii) maintaining helpful guidelines and suggestions for the preparation of proposals, for conducting Workshops and Symposia, and for preparing final reports, and (iv) ensuring that Board-approved policies governing technical meetings are properly followed by the organizers.

2014 Members
Elza Erkip
Chair (01/01/13 until 12/31/15)

Michelle Effros
Ex-Officio (01/01/14 until 12/31/14)

California Institute of Technology
Department of Electrical Engineering

Abbas El Gamal
Ex-Officio (01/01/14 until 12/31/14)

Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
Packard Building, Rm 262
350 Serra Mall
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94301

Aylin Yener
Ex-Officio (01/01/14 until 12/31/14)

Roy and Lois Chope Chair in Engineering

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor of Integrated Systems Engineering
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

The Ohio State University
720 Dreese Labs, 2015 Neil Ave, Columbus, OH 43210

Jeffrey G Andrews
Member (01/01/14 until 12/31/16)

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

The University of Texas at Austin


Contact Information:
UT Austin WNCG, ENS 431
2501 Speedway, Stop C0806
Austin, TX 78712-1687

Phone: (512) 471-6500
Fax: (512) 471 6512

Stephen Vaughan Hanly
Member (01/01/14 until 12/31/16)

Macquarie University, Dept. of Electronic Engineering, E6B, Rm 109 North Ryde, NSW 2109, Australia. 

Alon Orlitsky
Member (01/01/13 until 12/31/14)

University of California San Diego (UCSD)

Lars K Rasmussen
Member (08/01/11 until 12/31/14)

KTH - Royal Institute of Technology

ACCESS Linneaus Center

School of Electrical Engineering

Communication Theory Laboratory

Osquldas väg 10, 4th floor

SE-100 44 Stockholm



Work:       +46 (0)8 790 8419

Fax:           +46 (0)8 790 7260

Mobile:    +46 (0)703 828 981




Member (01/01/13 until 12/31/15)


Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


IEEE TechNav