Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

The Claude E. Shannon Award Committee shall consist of the President (who shall serve as Chair), the 1st Vice-President, the 2nd Vice-President, and four other members appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee before January 15th. At least three of the appointed members shall be former Claude E. Shannon Award winners, and at least one of the appointed members shall be the current, or a former, Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory or the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory. Typically the appointed members of the Committee will serve for two years, in staggered terms.

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Claude E. Shannon Award winner for the following year and with selecting a winner.

2017 Members
Ex-officio and Chair (01/01/17 until 12/31/17)


Elza Erkip
Ex-officio (01/01/17 until 12/31/17)

Emina Soljanin
Ex-officio (01/01/17 until 12/31/17)
ECE, Rutgers
94 Brett Rd
Piscataway, NJ 08854 
office: (848) 445 5256 
Robert Calderbank
Member (01/01/16 until 12/31/17)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Duke University

Mailing Address:

Gross Hall, Room 317

140 Science Drive


NC 27708-0984

Phone Number: 919-613-7874

Joachim Hagenauer
Member (01/01/17 until 12/31/17)

Lehrstuhl fuer Nachrichtentechnik
Technical University of Munich

Shlomo Shamai, (Shitz)
Member (01/01/17 until 12/31/18)

Department of Electrical Engineering
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Haifa 32000, Israel
tel: 97248294713
fax: 97248232913

Paul H. Siegel
Member (01/01/17 until 12/31/18)

University of California, San Diego
Center for Memory and Recording Research (CMRR)
CMRR, 0401
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA  92093-0401
Phone: (858) 534-6210
Fax: (858) 534-8059

Sergio Verdú
Member (01/01/17 until 12/31/17)

Department of Electrical Engineering

Princeton, NJ 08544

Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


IEEE TechNav