Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

The Claude E. Shannon Award Committee shall consist of the President (who shall serve as Chair), the 1st Vice-President, the 2nd Vice-President, and four other members appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee before January 15th. At least three of the appointed members shall be former Claude E. Shannon Award winners, and at least one of the appointed members shall be the current, or a former, Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory or the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory. Typically the appointed members of the Committee will serve for two years, in staggered terms.

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Claude E. Shannon Award winner for the following year and with selecting a winner.

2013 Members
Gerhard Kramer
Ex-officio and Chair (01/01/13 until 12/31/13)

Institute for Communications Engineering
Technical University of Munich
D-80290 Munich, Germany

Michelle Effros
Ex-officio (01/01/13 until 12/31/13)

California Institute of Technology
Department of Electrical Engineering

Abbas El Gamal
Ex-officio (01/01/13 until 12/31/13)

Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
Packard Building, Rm 262
350 Serra Mall
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94301

Member (01/01/13 until 12/31/14)
Solomon Golomb, (1932-2016)
Member (01/01/13 until 12/31/14)

University Professor 

Andrew and Erna Viterbi Professor of Communications

Electrical Engineering and Mathematics Departments

University of Southern California

Te Sun Han
Member (01/01/13 until 12/31/14)


Paul H. Siegel
Member (01/01/13 until 12/31/14)

University of California, San Diego
Center for Memory and Recording Research (CMRR)
CMRR, 0401
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA  92093-0401
Phone: (858) 534-6210
Fax: (858) 534-8059

Member (01/01/12 until 12/31/13)
Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


IEEE TechNav