Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

The Claude E. Shannon Award Committee shall consist of the President (who shall serve as Chair), the 1st Vice-President, the 2nd Vice-President, and four other members appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee before January 15th. At least three of the appointed members shall be former Claude E. Shannon Award winners, and at least one of the appointed members shall be the current, or a former, Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory or the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory. Typically the appointed members of the Committee will serve for two years, in staggered terms.

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Claude E. Shannon Award winner for the following year and with selecting a winner.

2012 Members
Muriel Medard
Ex-officio and Chair (01/01/12 until 12/31/12)

Network Coding & Reliable Communications Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Gerhard Kramer
Ex-officio (01/01/12 until 12/31/12)

Institute for Communications Engineering
Technical University of Munich
D-80290 Munich, Germany

Abbas El Gamal
Ex-officio (01/01/12 until 12/31/12)

Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
Packard Building, Rm 262
350 Serra Mall
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94301

Richard Blahut
Member (01/01/12 until 12/31/12)

Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Illinois
Henry Magnuski Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor Emeritus
109 Coordinated Science Lab MC 228
1308 W. Main St.
Urbana Illinois 61801, USA

Sergio Verdú
Member (01/01/12 until 12/31/12)

Department of Electrical Engineering

Princeton, NJ 08544

Member (01/01/12 until 12/31/13)
Jacob Ziv
Member (01/01/12 until 12/31/12)

Technion Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Department of Electrical Engineering,

Technion, Haifa 32000 Israel


Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


IEEE TechNav