Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Claude E. Shannon Award winner for the following year, and to select a winner. The President of the Society shall serve as Chairperson of the Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee. Ordinarily, the decision of the Committee shall be made public at the IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory of the year preceding the award.

2011 Members
Giuseppe Caire
Ex-officio and Chair (01/01/11 until 12/31/11)

EE Department, Viterbi School of Engineering
University of Southern California
3740 McClintock Ave., EEB 528
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Tel: (213)740-4683
Fax: (213)740-8729

Gerhard Kramer
Ex-officio (01/01/11 until 12/31/11)

Institute for Communications Engineering
Technical University of Munich
D-80290 Munich, Germany

Muriel Medard
Ex-officio (01/01/11 until 12/31/11)

Network Coding & Reliable Communications Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Richard Blahut
Member (01/01/11 until 12/31/11)

Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Illinois
Henry Magnuski Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor Emeritus
109 Coordinated Science Lab MC 228
1308 W. Main St.
Urbana Illinois 61801, USA

Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/11)

Dep.  of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), M.I.T.,

Cambridge, MA 02139 

Member (01/01/11 until 12/31/11)

Viterbi Group, LLC

4370 La Jolla Village Dr.

Suite 675

San Diego,CA 92122

Jacob Ziv
Member (01/01/11 until 12/31/11)

Technion Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Department of Electrical Engineering,

Technion, Haifa 32000 Israel


Members by Year
Show all previous years


IEEE TechNav