Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Claude E. Shannon Award winner for the following year, and to select a winner. The President of the Society shall serve as Chairperson of the Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee. Ordinarily, the decision of the Committee shall be made public at the IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory of the year preceding the award.

2010 Members
Frank R. Kschischang
Ex-officio and Chair (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Toronto

10 King's College Road

Toronto, Ontario M5S 3G4


tel: +1 416 978 0461

skype: fkschischang

Giuseppe Caire
Ex-officio (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)

EE Department, Viterbi School of Engineering
University of Southern California
3740 McClintock Ave., EEB 528
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Tel: (213)740-4683
Fax: (213)740-8729

Muriel Medard
Ex-officio (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)

Network Coding & Reliable Communications Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Member (01/01/09 until 12/31/10)
Abbas El Gamal
Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)

Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
Packard Building, Rm 262
350 Serra Mall
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94301

Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/11)

Dep.  of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), M.I.T.,

Cambridge, MA 02139 

Robert M. Gray
Member (01/01/09 until 12/31/10)

Robert M Gray

12 Norwood Ave

Rockport, MA 01966

email: rmgray at

Members by Year
Show all previous years


IEEE TechNav