Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

The Claude E. Shannon Award Committee shall consist of the President (who shall serve as Chair), the 1st Vice-President, the 2nd Vice-President, and four other members appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee before January 15th. At least three of the appointed members shall be former Claude E. Shannon Award winners, and at least one of the appointed members shall be the current, or a former, Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory or the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory. Typically the appointed members of the Committee will serve for two years, in staggered terms.

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Claude E. Shannon Award winner for the following year and with selecting a winner.

2008 Members
G. David Forney, Jr.
Ex-officio and Chair (01/01/08 until 12/31/08)


Andrea Goldsmith
Ex-officio (01/01/07 until 12/31/08)

Department of Electrical Engineering
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: 650 725 6932

Frank R. Kschischang
Ex-officio (01/01/08 until 12/31/09)

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Toronto

10 King's College Road

Toronto, Ontario M5S 3G4


tel: +1 416 978 0461

skype: fkschischang

Richard Blahut
Member (01/01/07 until 12/31/08)

Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Illinois
Henry Magnuski Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor Emeritus
109 Coordinated Science Lab MC 228
1308 W. Main St.
Urbana Illinois 61801, USA

James Massey, (1934-2013)
Member (01/01/07 until 12/31/08)

James Lee Massey was a Professor Emeritus at ETH Zürich.

Sergio Verdú
Member (01/01/08 until 12/31/09)

Department of Electrical Engineering

Princeton, NJ 08544

Member (01/01/08 until 12/31/09)
Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


IEEE TechNav