Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee

The Committee is charged with deciding whether to name a Claude E. Shannon Award winner for the following year, and to select a winner. The President of the Society shall serve as Chairperson of the Claude E. Shannon Award Selection Committee. Ordinarily, the decision of the Committee shall be made public at the IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory of the year preceding the award.

2006 Members
David Neuhoff
Ex-officio and Chair (01/01/06 until 12/31/06)
Ex-officio (01/01/06 until 12/31/07)

Department of Electrical Engineering
University of Hawaii

Bixio Rimoldi
Ex-officio (01/01/05 until 12/31/06)


Thomas M. Cover, (1938-2012)
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/07)

Electrical Engineering Dept.
Stanford University
350 Serra Mall, #254
Stanford, CA 94305-9510

G. David Forney, Jr.
Member (01/01/05 until 12/31/06)


Robert J. McEliece
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/07)

Allen E. Puckett Professor and Professor of Electrical Engineering
California Institute of Technology

Jack Keil Wolf, (1935-2011)
Member (01/01/05 until 12/31/06)

Center for Magnetic Recording Research

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Drive

La jolla, CA 92093-0407

Phone (858) 534 6218


Members by Year
Show all previous years


IEEE TechNav