Paper Awards Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Paper Awards Committee

The Paper Awards Committee shall consist of at least nine members representing all major technical areas in the Society. At least four members shall have served as Associate Editors, Senior Editors or Guest Editors of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory or the Journal on Selected Areas in Information Theory within the past three years. The 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents of the Society shall serve as ex-officio voting members of this Committee, with the 1st Vice President serving as Chair. At least two members of the Committee (in addition to the two Officers) shall be members of the Board. The Committee shall be appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee no later than January 31st.

The Committee shall be responsible for submitting a recommendation to the Board for the Information Theory Society Paper Award. It is also responsible for selecting the recipient(s) of the Jack Keil Wolf ISIT Student Paper Award, and for contributing members to serve on the IEEE Communication Society and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award selection committee.

2010 Members
Giuseppe Caire
Ex-Officio and Chair (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)

EE Department, Viterbi School of Engineering
University of Southern California
3740 McClintock Ave., EEB 528
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Tel: (213)740-4683
Fax: (213)740-8729

Muriel Medard
Ex-Officio (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)

Network Coding & Reliable Communications Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)

Department of ECE and Institute for Systems Research

University of Maryland

College Park, MD 20742

Max H. M.  Costa
Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)

School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Campinas - Unicamp
Av. Albert Einstein, 400
Cidade Universitária
Campinas, SP - 13083-852


Elza Erkip
Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/11)

Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/11)

Name:                          LI Ping

Date of birth:                10/12/1957

Contact address:           Dept. of EE, City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon Hong Kong

Tel (Office):                  (+852) 2788 9574

Fax:                              (+852) 2788 7791


Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/10)
Ueli M Maurer
Member (01/01/09 until 12/31/10)

Department of Computer Science
ETH Zurich
CH-8092 Zurich
+41 44 632 7420

Hirosuke Yamamoto
Member (01/01/10 until 12/31/11)

Professor Emeritus

The University of Tokyo


Visiting Professor 

School of Fundamental Science and Engineering

Waseda University


Visiting Institute Professor

Research and Development Initiative

Chuo University


Visiting Researcher

Organization for the Strategic Coordination of Research and Intellectual Properties

Meiji University

En-hui Yang
Member (01/01/09 until 12/31/10)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Waterloo

200 University Avenue West
Waterloo, ON N2L 3G1
Phone: 519-888-4567 ext. 32873
Fax: 519-746-3077

Ram Zamir
Member (01/01/09 until 12/31/10)

Department of Electrical Engineering-Systems 
Tel Aviv University
Ramat Aviv 69978 ISRAEL
Phone: 972-3-6406273 
Fax: 972-3-6407095

Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


IEEE TechNav