Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The Diversity and Inclusion Committee shall consist of a Chair, the Junior Past-President as an ex-officio member, and at least four additional members. The Chair shall be appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee with the approval of the Board. In turn, the Chair will appoint at least four additional members, also with approval of the Board. Typically the Chair and members of the Committee will serve for three years, with members serving in staggered terms.

The Committee is responsible for creating and executing an ongoing diversity and inclusion strategy, presenting progress, plans, data, and metrics annually to the Board. Diversity and inclusion will include, but are not limited to, the issues of gender identity, ethnicity, sexual orientation, religion, geography, seniority, or other personal characteristics not related to ability, performance, or qualications. The Committee is charged with ensuring that Information Theory Society events and processes are inclusive, welcoming and safe for everyone in the eld of information theory and with developing and overseeing codes of conduct and best practices for all Society activities, including conferences, schools, and committees.

2019 Members
Elza Erkip
Chair (02/11/18 until 12/31/19)


Stark Draper
Member (02/11/18 until 12/31/19)

University of Toronto

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

10 King's College Road

Toronto, ON 

M5S 3G4


tel: +001.416.978.0503


Sidharth (Sid) Jaggi
Member (02/11/18 until 12/31/19)

Associate Professor, 

Department of Information Engineering,

Chinese Univerity of Hong Kong,

ShaTin, N.T., Hong Kong,


Tara Javidi
Member (02/11/18 until 12/31/19)

Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Dr. MC0407
La Jolla, CA 92093-0407
Tel: +1 858 822 4924

Muriel Medard
Member (02/11/18 until 12/31/19)

Network Coding & Reliable Communications Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Emanuele Viterbo
Member (02/11/18 until 12/31/19)

Monash University

Dept. of Electrical & Computer Systems Engineering (ECSE)
Rm G09, Bld 35, Wellington Rd, Clayton, Melbourne, VIC3800, Australia
P: +61 3 99053473

Members by Year

IEEE TechNav