Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The Diversity and Inclusion Committee shall consist of a Chair, the Junior Past-President as an ex-officio member, and at least four additional members. The Chair shall be appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee with the approval of the Board. In turn, the Chair will appoint at least four additional members, also with approval of the Board. Typically the Chair and members of the Committee will serve for three years, with members serving in staggered terms.

The Committee is responsible for creating and executing an ongoing diversity and inclusion strategy, presenting progress, plans, data, and metrics annually to the Board. Diversity and inclusion will include, but are not limited to, the issues of gender identity, ethnicity, sexual orientation, religion, geography, seniority, or other personal characteristics not related to ability, performance, or qualifications. The Committee is charged with ensuring that Information Theory Society events and processes are inclusive, welcoming and safe for everyone in the field of information theory and with developing and overseeing codes of conduct and best practices for all Society activities, including conferences, schools, and committees.

2021 Members
Stark Draper
Chair (01/23/20 until 12/31/22)

University of Toronto

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

10 King's College Road

Toronto, ON 

M5S 3G4


tel: +001.416.978.0503


Aylin Yener
Ex-officio (01/01/21 until 12/31/21)

Roy and Lois Chope Chair in Engineering

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor of Integrated Systems Engineering
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

The Ohio State University
720 Dreese Labs, 2015 Neil Ave, Columbus, OH 43210

Todd P Coleman
Member (06/21/20 until 12/31/22)

Todd P. Coleman

Assistant Professor

Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Neuroscience Program

Coordinated Science Laboratory

Beckman Institute

University of Illinois


Member (06/21/20 until 12/31/22)

School of Technology & Computer Science, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Nihar B Shah
Member (06/21/20 until 12/31/22)

Machine Learning Department and Computer Science Department

Carnegie Mellon University,

Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Michele Wigger
Member (06/21/20 until 12/31/22)

Communications and Electronics Department
Telecom ParisTech, LTCI
46, rue Barrault
75634 Paris Cedex 13

Tel.: +33 1 45 81 7528

Members by Year

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:



IEEE TechNav