

The IEEE Computer Society is an association of people with professional interest in the field of computers. All members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Computer Society, as are members of certain professional societies and other computer professionals. Computer Society members will receive this Transactions in print and online upon payment of the annual Society membership fee (\$50 for IEEE members, \$113 for all others) plus an annual subscription fee of \$43. Members of IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing cosponsoring societies will also receive Computer Society member rates. For additional membership and subscription information, visit our Web site at http://computer.org/subscribe, send email to help@computer.org, or write to IEEE Computer Society, 10662 Los Vaqueros Circle, PÓ Box 3014, Los Alamitos, CA 90720-1314 USA. Individual subscription copies of Transactions are for personal use only.

IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON

MOBILE COMPUTING

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

MANI SRIVASTAVA

Department of Electrical Engineering University of California, Los Angeles 7702-B Boelter Hall, Box 951594 Los Angeles, CA 90024-1596 mbs@ee.ucla.edu

Editorial Board

Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign zaher@cs.uiuc.edu

University of California, Santa Barbara almeroth@cs.ucsb.edu

Saurabh Bagchi Purdue University sbagchi@purdue.edu

DOUGLAS BLOUGH Georgia Tech doug.blough@ece.gatech.edu

TRACY CAMP Colorado School of Mines tcamp@mines.edu

SRDIAN CAPKUN ETH Zurich capkuns@inf.ethz.ch

SUNGHYUN CHOI Seoul National University schoi@snu.ac.kr

Моот Сноо Снимн Lehigh University chuah@cse.lehigh.edu

MARCO CONTI CNR IIT Institute marco.conti@iit.cnr.it

MARK CORNER University of Massachusetts Amherst mcorner@cs.umass.edu

SAJAL K. DAS The University of Texas at Arlington das@cse.uta.edu

SUNY at Stony Brook samir@cs.sunysb.edu

University of Massachusetts ganz@ecs.umass.edu

MARTIN HAENGGI University Of Notre Dame mhaenggi@nd.edu

RICHARD HAN University of Colorado at Boulder rhan@cs.colorado.edu

DIMITRIOS HATZINAKOS University of Toronto dimitris@comm.utoronto.ca

WENDI HEINZELMAN University of Rochester wheinzel@ece.rochester.edu

EKRAM HOSSAIN University of Manitoba, Canada ekram@ee.umanitoba.ca

ROBERT ISTEPANIAN Kingston University, London r.istepanian@kingston.ac.uk

University of New South Wales sanjay@cse.unsw.edu.au

EDWARD KNIGHTLY Rice University knightly@ece.rice.edu

David Kotz Dartmouth College dfk@cs.dartmouth.edu ASKAR KRISHNAMACHARI

bkrishna@usc.edu

University of California, Riverside krish@cs.ucr.edu

MARWAN KRUNZ University of Arizona krunz@ece.arizona.edu

T.V. Lakshman Bell Labs Research lakshman@research.bell-labs.com

Bo Li Hong Kong Univ. of Science & Technology bli@cs.ust.hk

JIE LIU Microsoft Research Jie.Liu@microsoft.com

Mingyan Liu University of Michigan mingyan@eecs.umich.edu MARGARET MARTONOSI

Princeton University martonosi@princeton.edu

University of California, Davis prasant@cs.ucdavis.edu

Thyagarajan Nandagopal thyaga@lucent.com

CHANDRA NARAYANASWAMI IBM TI Watson Research Center chandras@us.ibm.com

Carnegie Mellon University negi@ece.cmu.edu

SERGIO PALAZZO University of Catania, Italy palazzo@diit.unict.it

CHIARA PETRIOLI Sapienza Università di Roma petrioli@di.uniroma1.it

RADHA POOVENDRAN University of Washington rp3@u.washington.edu

RAVI PRAKASH University of Texas at Dallas ravip@utdallas.edu

ANAND RAGHUNATHAN NEC Laboratories America anand@nec-labs.com

KRITHI RAMAMRITHAM IIT Bombay krithi@cse.iitb.ac.in

BHASKARAN RAMAN Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay br@cse.iitb.ac.in

BBN Technologies ramanath@bbn.com

CARLO REGAZZONI University of Genova carlo@dibe.unige.it

ETZ Zurich r@inf.ethz.ch

ASHUTOSH SABHARWAL Rice University ashu@rice.edu

Università di Brescia luca.salgarelli@ing.unibs.it

PAOLO SANTI Istituto di Informatica e Telematica paolo.santi@iit.cnr.it

ARUNABHA SEN Arizona State University asen@asu.edu

MOHAMMAD SHAHIDEHPOUR Indian Institute of Technology ms@iit.edu

SANIAY SHAKKOTTAI The University of Texas at Austin shakkott@ece.utexas.edu

RAIEEV SHOREY General Motors India Pvt. Ltd. rajeev.shorey@gm.com

TAIANA SIMUNIC-ROSING University of California, San Diego taiana@ucsd.edu

SURESH SINCH Portland State University singh@cs.pdx.edu

PRASUN SINHA Ohio State University prasun@cse.ohio-state.edu

ALEX SNOEREN University of California, San Diego asnoeren@ucsd.edu

TERRY TODD McMaster University todd@mcmaster.ca

National Chiao-Tung University yctseng@csie.nctu.edu.tw

WADE TRAPPE Rutgers University trappe@winlab.rutgers.edu

András Valkó Ericsson Kft andras.valko@ericss

NALINI VENKATASUBRAMANIAN UC Irvine nalini@ics.uci.edu

STEPHAN WEISS

University of Strathclyde stephan.weiss@eee.strath.ac.uk

OURI WOLFSON University of Illinois-Chicago wolfson@cs.uic.edu

IIE WII

lorida Atlantic University iie@cse.fau.edu

WEI YE USC Information Sciences Institute

weiye@isi.edu YONGGUANG ZHANG

Microsoft Research, Asia vgz@microsoft.com

University of California, Santa Barbara htzheng@cs.ucsb.edu

Technical Cosponsors



IEEE ELECTROMAGNETIC CIETY COMPATIBILITY SOCIETY



EMB IEEE ENGINEERING IN MEDICINE AND BIOLOGY SOCIETY



IEEE ENGINEERING MANAGEMENT SOCIETY



IEEE INSTRUMENTATION AND IEEE INSTRUCTION OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PROPER



IEEE INFORMATION THEORY SOCIETY



IEEE POWER PES & ENERGY SOCIETY



IEEE ROBOTICS AND AUTOMATION SOCIETY



IEEE SYSTEMS, MAN, AND CYBERNETICS SOCIETY

MANUSCRIPT SUBMISSIONS / STATUS INQUIRIES: For information on submitting a manuscript or on a paper awaiting publication, please contact: Transactions Assistant TMC, IEEE Computer Society, 10662 Los Vaqueros Circle, PO Box 3014, Los Alamitos, CA 90720-1314 USA; EMAIL: tmc@computer.org, PHONE: +1 714.821.8380; FAX: +1 714.821.9975

IEEE Computer Society Publishing Services Staff

ALICIA L. STICKLEY, Senior Manager, Publishing Services ERIN ESPRIU, Transactions Production Supervisor KIMBERLY SPERKA, Production Editor II

STEVE WAREHAM, Digital Production Supervisor MARK BARTOSIK, Digital Production Specialist

JENNIFER CARRUTH, Associate Manager of Peer Review and Publication Administration MARI PADILLA, Publications Coordinator

IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON MOBILE COMPUTING is published monthly by the IEEE Computer Society. IEEE Corporate Office: Three Park Avenue, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10016-5997 USA. Responsibility for the content rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE or the IEEE Computer Society. IEEE Computer Society Publications Office: 10662 Los Vaqueros Circle, PO Box 3014, Los Alamitos, CA 90720-1314 USA. IEEE Computer Society Headquarters: 1730 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20036-1992 USA. Back issues: IEEE members \$20.00, nonmembers \$54.00 per copy. (Note: Add \$4.00 postage and handling charge to any order from \$1.00 to \$50.00, including prepaid orders). Complete price information available on request. Copyright and Reprint Permissions. Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy for pivate use of patrons, provide the per-copy fee indicated in the code at the bottom of the first page is paid through the Copyright Centre (Libraries are permitted to the province) and Permissions Department, IEEE Publications Administration, 445 Hoes Lane, PO Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. Copyright © 2008 by The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, Inc. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage paid at New York, NY, and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster Send address changes to IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON MOBILE COMPUTING, IEEE Service Center, 445 Hoes Lane, PO Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331 USA. CST Registration No. 12563188. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement Number 40013885. Return Undeliverable Canadian Addresses to: PO Box 122, Niagara Falls, ON L2E 6S8. Printed in the USA on ANSI/NISO standard 730 48-1092, arid-three 100%; Proceeding and Proceeding Addresses and Z39.48-1992 acid-free 100% recycled paper.