Board of Governors

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors and its Officers lead the IT Society and oversee the activities of various Committees.

2008 Members
G. David Forney, Jr.
President (01/01/08 until 12/31/08)


Andrea Goldsmith
First Vice President (01/01/08 until 12/31/08)

C230 E-Quad

School of Engineering and Applied Science
Princeton, New Jersey 08544


Frank R. Kschischang
Second Vice President (01/01/08 until 12/31/08)
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Toronto

10 King's College Road

Toronto, Ontario M5S 3G4


tel: +1 416 978 0461

skype: fkschischang

Bixio Rimoldi
Junior Past President (01/01/08 until 12/31/08)


David Neuhoff
Senior Past President (01/01/08 until 12/31/08)
Ezio Biglieri
Transactions Editor-in-Chief (07/01/07 until 06/30/10)

Honorary Professor, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain.

Home address: 249 Corso Peschiera, I-10141 Torino (Italy).

Anant Sahai
Treasurer (01/01/07 until 12/31/09)

Wireless Foundations and Berkeley Wireless Research Center
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
University of California at Berkeley

Joao Barros
Secretary (08/01/06 until 07/03/09)

Contact: Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, Departamento de Engenharia Electrotécnica e de Computadores, Rua Dr. Roberto Frias, s/n 4200-465, Porto, Portugal | Visitors: Building I, Office I338| +351 225081825 |

Executive Secretary: Silvia Bettencourt Ribeiro,

Check out our group webpage available here.

Alex Grant
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)
Conference Committee Chair (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Institute for Telecommunications Research
University of South Australia

Member (01/01/08 until 12/31/10)

Department of ECE and Institute for Systems Research

University of Maryland

College Park, MD 20742

Giuseppe Caire
Member (01/01/08 until 12/31/10)

EE Department, Viterbi School of Engineering
University of Southern California
3740 McClintock Ave., EEB 528
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Tel: (213)740-4683
Fax: (213)740-8729

Robert Calderbank
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Duke University

Mailing Address:

Gross Hall, Room 317

140 Science Drive


NC 27708-0984

Phone Number: 919-613-7874

Daniel J. Costello, Jr.
Member (01/01/08 until 12/31/10)

Bettex Professor of Electrical Engineering, Emeritus
University of Notre Dame
230A Fitzpatrick Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556
Phone: +574-631-5483
Fax: +574-631-4393

Michelle Effros
Member (01/01/08 until 12/31/10)

California Institute of Technology
Department of Electrical Engineering

Tor Helleseth
Member (01/01/07 until 12/31/09)
Ralf Koetter, (1963-2009)
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Prof. Dr. Ralf Kötter

Head of LNT from 2007 till 2009

Member (01/01/07 until 12/31/09)

 Ryuji Kohno, Ph.D.,
* Director, Center of Medical Information and Communication Technology
               Yokohama National University
               79-7 Tokiwadai, Hodogaya-ku, Yokohama, 240-8501 Japan
** Professor, Division of Physics, Electrical & Computer Engineering,
              Yokohama National University
              79-5 Tokiwadai, Hodogaya-ku, Yokohama, 240-8501 Japan
              Tel:+81-45-339-4115 & Fax/TelL 338-1157
*** Program Coordinator, Medical Info-Communications Technology(ICT) Institute
              National Institute of Information and Communications
              3-4, Hikarino-oka, Yokosuka-city, 239-0847 Japan
              Tel:+81-46-847-5108, Fax:+81-46-847-5059
**** Finnish Distinguished Professor (FiDiPro),
              Centre for Wireless Communications(CWC),
              University of Oulu
              Linnanmaa, P.O. Box 4500, FIN-90570 Oulu,
              Finland FI-90014
              Tel:+358-8-553-2849, Fax:+358-8-553-7615          

Member (01/01/07 until 12/31/12)
Muriel Medard
Member (01/01/07 until 12/31/12)

Network Coding & Reliable Communications Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Prakash Narayan
Member (01/01/07 until 12/31/12)

Prakash Narayan

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

2353 A. V. Williams Building

University of Maryland

College Park, MD 20742, USA

Alon Orlitsky
Member (01/01/07 until 12/31/09)

University of California San Diego (UCSD)

Shlomo Shamai, (Shitz)
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Department of Electrical Engineering
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Haifa 32000, Israel
tel: 97248294713
fax: 97248232913

Member (01/01/08 until 12/31/10)
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Room 264, Packard Building
350 Serra Mall
Stanford, CA 94305-9515
Fax: (650) 723-8473

Member (01/01/08 until 12/31/10)

University of California, San Diego
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

BoG History
Past Meetings
Old Meeting Minutes
HOWTO: Upload Reports
HOWTO: Submit Expense Reports
Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


Table of Contents

IEEE TechNav