Board of Governors

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors and its Officers lead the IT Society and oversee the activities of various Committees.

2006 Members
David Neuhoff
President (01/01/06 until 12/31/06)
Bixio Rimoldi
First Vice President (01/01/06 until 12/31/06)


Second Vice President (01/01/06 until 12/31/06)

Department of Electrical Engineering
University of Hawaii

Steven W. McLaughlin
Junior Past President (01/01/06 until 12/31/06)

250 North Avenue, Carnegie Building

Georgia Institute of Technology

Atlanta, GA 30332 USA

Hideki Imai
Senior Past President (01/01/06 until 12/31/06)

Imai Laboratory, Third Department
Institute of Industrial Science
University of Tokyo

H Vincent Poor
Transactions Editor-in-Chief (07/01/04 until 06/30/07)

School of Engineering and Applied Science
C230 Engineering Quadrangle
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08544
(609) 258-2260

Muriel Medard
Treasurer (01/01/04 until 12/31/06)

Network Coding & Reliable Communications Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joao Barros
Secretary (08/01/06 until 07/03/09)

Contact: Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, Departamento de Engenharia Electrotécnica e de Computadores, Rua Dr. Roberto Frias, s/n 4200-465, Porto, Portugal | Visitors: Building I, Office I338| +351 225081825 |

Executive Secretary: Silvia Bettencourt Ribeiro,

Check out our group webpage available here.

Mehul Motani
Secretary (01/01/03 until 07/31/06)

Dept of Electrical and Computer Engineering
National University of Singapore
4 Engineering Drive 3 
Singapore 117583
Tel: +65 6516 6918
Fax: +65 6779 1103 

Alex Grant
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)
Conference Committee Chair (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Institute for Telecommunications Research
University of South Australia

John B Anderson
Member (01/01/04 until 12/31/06)

Dept. Electrical and Information Engineering and nation strategic center for High Speed Wireless Communication

Lund University

Box 118

22100 Lund SWEDEN

Tele: +46-46-2223449

Giuseppe Caire
Member (01/01/05 until 12/31/07)

EE Department, Viterbi School of Engineering
University of Southern California
3740 McClintock Ave., EEB 528
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Tel: (213)740-4683
Fax: (213)740-8729

Robert Calderbank
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Duke University

Mailing Address:

Gross Hall, Room 317

140 Science Drive


NC 27708-0984

Phone Number: 919-613-7874

Daniel J. Costello, Jr.
Member (01/01/05 until 12/31/07)

Bettex Professor of Electrical Engineering, Emeritus
University of Notre Dame
230A Fitzpatrick Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556
Phone: +574-631-5483
Fax: +574-631-4393

Thomas M. Cover, (1938-2012)
Member (01/01/04 until 12/31/06)

Electrical Engineering Dept.
Stanford University
350 Serra Mall, #254
Stanford, CA 94305-9510

G. David Forney, Jr.
Member (01/01/04 until 12/31/06)


Member (01/01/04 until 12/31/06)

Lehrstuhl fur Informationsubertragung
Universitat Erlangen-Nurnberg

Ralf Koetter, (1963-2009)
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Prof. Dr. Ralf Kötter

Head of LNT from 2007 till 2009

Frank R. Kschischang
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Toronto

10 King's College Road

Toronto, Ontario M5S 3G4


tel: +1 416 978 0461

skype: fkschischang

Urbashi Mitra
Member (01/01/05 until 12/31/07)
Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering
3740 McClintock Avenue
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089
+1 213 740 4667
Shlomo Shamai, (Shitz)
Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Department of Electrical Engineering
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Haifa 32000, Israel
tel: 97248294713
fax: 97248232913

Member (01/01/06 until 12/31/08)

Room 264, Packard Building
350 Serra Mall
Stanford, CA 94305-9515
Fax: (650) 723-8473

Alexander Vardy
Member (01/01/04 until 12/31/06)

University of California San Diego

Member (01/01/05 until 12/31/07)

University of Illinois

Member (01/01/05 until 12/31/07)

University of California, San Diego
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Andrea Goldsmith

C230 E-Quad

School of Engineering and Applied Science
Princeton, New Jersey 08544


BoG History
Past Meetings
Old Meeting Minutes
HOWTO: Upload Reports
HOWTO: Submit Expense Reports
Members by Year
Show all previous years

COVID-19 Updates

Read important changes and updates to the 2020 activities of the IEEE Information Theory Society due to the COVID-19 pandemic at:


Table of Contents

IEEE TechNav