2016 IEEE Technical Field Award Recipients
The 2016 IEEE Technical Field Award Recipients were announced this week.
Jun 26, 2015

Among the recipients of 2016 IEEE Technical Field Awards were several members of the Information Theory community.  


The  IEEE Eric. E. Sumner Award   recognizes outstanding contributions to communications technology.  The 2016 co-recipients are  SHUO-YEN ROBERT LI,  Professor, Chinese University of Hong Kong,  RAYMOND W. YEUNG, P rofessor, Chinese University of Hong Kong, and    NING CAI,  Professor, Xidian University, “for pioneering contributions to the field of network coding.”

The IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communication Award recognizes  outstanding contributions to the integration of computers and communications.  The 2016 recipient is  LEANDROS TASSIULAS,  Professor, Yale University, "f or contributions to the scheduling and stability analysis of networks.”

The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award   recognizes outstanding contribution to the advancement of speech and/or audio signal processing.  The 2016 recipient is  TAKEHIRO MORIYA,  Head of Moriya Research Lab, Atsugi, Kanagawa, Japan, "for  contributions to speech and audio coding algorithms and standardization.”

Congratulations to the 2016 award recipients!


The full list of IEEE Technical Field Award recipients is available on the IEEE website: