2010 ISIT Student Paper Award

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

The Information Theory Society Student Paper Award recognizes outstanding papers presented (by a student author) at the IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory. The award is given on the basis of both the technical content of the paper and the quality of the presentation, and the student(s) must be the primary contributor(s) to the paper. The 2010 recipients of this award are:

  1. Yury Polyanskiy for his paper "Variable-length coding with feedback in the non-asymptotic regime,'' (co-authored with H. Vincent Poor, Sergio Verdu)
  2.  Jayadev Acharya for his paper "On Reconstructing a Sequence from its Subsequence Compositions,'' (co-authored with Hirakendu Das, Olgica Milenkovic, Alon Orlitsky, Shengjun Pan)
  3. Yashodhan Kanoria for his paper "On the deletion channel with small deletion probability,'' (co-authored with Andrea Montanari)
  4. Arya Mazumdar for his paper "Codes in Permutations and Error Correction for Rank Modulation,'' (co-authored with Alexander Barg)
  5. Benjamin Kelly for his paper "Universal Hypothesis Testing in the Learning-Limited Regime,'' (co-authored with Thitidej Tularak, Aaron Wagner, Pramod Viswanath)

In addition, the ITsoc Award Committee withes to congratulate all
finalist students for their excellent work.

Latest News
IEEE TV Profiles and Interviews
The First Workshop on the Age of Information - Call For Papers
ITSoc BoG contribution for newsletter

Upcoming Events

NSF Workshop on Low-Latency Wireless Random-Access at MIT
02-03 Nov 2017 | MIT Grier Room 34-401, 50 Vassar Street, Cambridge, MA, USA
2017 IEEE Information Theory Workshop
06-10 Nov 2017 | Kaohsiung Exhibition Center, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Fano Memorial in Turin
10 Nov 2017 | Turin, Salone d'onore del Castello del Valentino.