2008 School of Information Theory

Jump to other IT Society Websites:

The IEEE Information Theory Society is organizing an Annual School on Information Theory. The 2008 event, co-organized by Aylin Yener and Gerhard Kramer, was recently held at University Park Campus, Penn State University.

itschool2008

Motivation and Background

The aim of the School of Information Theory is to bring together graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and senior researchers working on Information Theory in an interactive campus environment. We follow the tradition of the European Winter School on Coding and Information Theory and bring it to North America!

About the School

The First Annual School of Information Theory was held Sunday, June 1, to Thursday, June 5, 2008, at the University Park Campus, Penn State University, State College, PA. The school featured lectures on June 2, 3 and 4. The instructors at the First School of Information Theory were:

Prof. Toby Berger, University of Virginia

Prof. Muriel Medard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Prof. David Tse, University of California Berkeley

The school also featured a panel discussion on June 4 and the keynote lecture on June 5 by Prof . H. Vincent Poor of Princeton University. A banquet dinner was held the evening of June 4.

Graduate students and postdoctoral researchers working on problems of information theory in a broad sense participated in the school and presented their work in the form of short talks or posters.

The First Annual School was dedicated to the memory of Sergio Servetto.

Sponsors

We gratefully acknowledge the support from the following sponsors of the First Annual School of Information Theory:

Organizers


Overall Organization

Aylin Yener (yener@ee.psu.edu)
Gerhard Kramer (gkr@bell-labs.com)

Applications
Ivana Maric (ivanam@wsl.stanford.edu)
Sennur Ulukus (ulukus@umd.edu)

Web and Publicity
J. Nicholas Laneman (jlaneman@nd.edu)
Lalitha Sankar (lalitha@princeton.edu)
Brooke Shrader (bshrader@umd.edu)